SpotON3D to talk patents in SL forum

SpotON3D will address the patent issue in a discussion on the first day of its Content Creators Expo in Second Life.

Philippe Pascal, SpotON3D’s developer program manager, invited Hypergrid Business readers to attend the Expo, including those concerned about reports that SpotON3D has filed for five patents on OpenSim-related technology.

Visiting SpotON3D via a Facebook plugin. (Click on image to see higher resolution picture.)

Those patent applications cover a browser-based viewer wrapper plugin, the “Double Dutch” multi-grid content delivery system,  and a “key account” multi-grid registration system, under which users can link multiple avatars to a single user account.

Philippe Pascal

“Two presentations I think your audience might be really interested in, take place tomorrow,” said Pascal.

At 1 p.m. Pacific (4 p.m. US Eastern time) Pascal will lead a developer discussion group.

And, at 5 p.m. Pacific (8 p.m. Eastern), there will be a session titled, “SpotON3D ‘s Patent Pending Plug-in: Is it a threat or a benefit?”

The three-day expo, which begins Friday, August 19, will be at the SpotON3D Biz Solutions region in Second Life. More info can also be found at ccexpo.spoton3d.com

Read more about the SpotON3D patent controversy and OpenSim-related patents in general:

Maria Korolov

Maria Korolov is a science fiction writer who covers cybersecurity, AI and extended reality as a tech journalist at her day job.
Check out her author page on Amazon or follow her on Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn. Her first virtual world novella, Krim Times, made the Amazon best-seller list in its category. Her second novella, The Lost King of Krim, is out now.